Overview
Intervention groups consist of students receiving the same intervention and targeted instruction focused on specific skill(s). Student progress is monitored within each group, and as students demonstrate growth, instructional decisions may include closing an intervention group or moving individual students into, out of, or between groups based on their needs.
When using Bulk Operations at the end of the year, all intervention groups can be closed at one time by checking the box next to Intervention Group. If a district wants to keep intervention groups open, then do not check the box in the bulk operation procedure. ion does recommend that districts close plans, goals, interventions and skills before beginning the new year.
Intervention Group Detail Page
An intervention group can be closed at any point during the school year. In ION, we "lock" an intervention group when we close it.
Closing (locking) an intervention group does not close the plan, skill, or a goal for a student. It does close the intervention and moves the intervention group from active to archived.
To lock an intervention group:
1. Click the "lock" icon on the Intervention Group Detail Page.
2. A dialogue box will appear to verify the date of closing the intervention. Click OK after date verification.
3. The intervention is now locked for all students in the group. The plan, skill, and goal are open and can remain open until the bulk closeout procedure has been performed.
4. The skill appears "locked" on the intervention group detail page because the intervention and group it is associated with has been locked.
5. If the student was added to another intervention group, the skill would be open and ready for progress monitoring for that group.
6. When a skill is locked, it will show as locked on the student plan page.
7. The intervention group moves from "active" to "archived."
If only some of the students have completed the intervention and/or some of the students are moving into a new intervention group, then those students need to be removed from their current group.
Removing (locking) students from an intervention group does not close the plan, skill, or a goal for a student. It does end their intervention in the current group.
If a student is beginning a new intervention using the same skill, their skill graph will reflect that.
Group Builder
Students are moved out of the group builder in the following way
- Find your group by clicking MTSS>Active Groups and choose the group
- The intervention Group Detail Page will populate - click "Edit"
- The Group Builder will populate. Choose the students who are ending the intervention by clicking on them. Their tiles will turn dark gray
- Drag the student tiles to the student list below
- A pop up will ask you to select the date the intervention ended for those students. Select the date and click "OK."
- The students have now been removed from the current intervention group. Click the save button.
- A pop up will confirm the changes have been saved.
- Intervention changes can be seen on a student's skill graph.
Intervention Group Detail Page
To remove student (s) from the intervention group:
1. Click the "lock" icon in front of the student's name on the Intervention Group Detail Page.
2. The pop up will ask staff to verify the date of closing the intervention. Click ok after date verification.
3. The student has now been removed from the intervention group. The plan, skill, and goal can remain open until the bulk closeout procedure has been performed.
4. Intervention changes can be viewed on a student's skill graph.
A "locked" skill on the intervention group detail page means that skill is locked to progress monitoring in that intervention group, but it does not necessarily mean that skill has been locked. See the student's plan page to view any locked skills. See Adding, Locking or Deleting Skills to learn more.
If an entire intervention group is reassigned to a new interventionist, click the "reassign" icon. Reassigning an Intervention group closes a current intervention group and then reassigns all the students to a new intervention group, keeping the goal and skill active for a student.
Group Builder
Reassign Interventions and Interventionist in the following way:
- Find your group by clicking MTSS>Active Groups and choose the group
- The intervention Group Detail Page will populate - click "Edit"
- The Group Builder will populate. Click "Show Group Settings"
- Click Interventionist box. A list will populate to select the new interventionist.
- A dialogue box will populate. Enter information and click OK
- The group will repopulate with all the students in it - the only change has been the interventionist name. The group start date remains the same.
- Click Save. A dialogue box will populate to verify changes have been saved.
- If desired, verify Change in Interventionist status under "intervention" on the student skill page.
Intervention Group Detail Page
- Click "Reassign" on the Intervention Group Detail Page.
- A dialogue box will appear to choose the end date and the new staff member.
- Click OK after making the choices.
The old intervention group will be closed and the new intervention group will be created - the only difference will be the name of the new staff member and the new date.
Other edits can be made such as renaming the new intervention group.
Certain changes to an intervention group will cause the system to close an intervention group and create a new one, for example, a change in intervention.
Group Builder
Follow the same steps for Reassigning Interventions and Interventionist
Intervention Group Detail Page
To change an intervention, follow these steps:
- Click Edit on the Intervention Group Detail Page
- Click in the intervention box and select the new intervention
- A dialogue box will populate
- Make selections
- Click OK
The old intervention group will be closed and the new intervention group will be created with the same students.
Other edits can be made such as renaming the new intervention group.
Any intervention group that has data attached to it should NOT be deleted.
If an intervention group was created, and students and data have not been added, then the group can be deleted.
If an intervention group was created, but students and data HAVE been added, then Close/Lock the group instead.
Do not delete intervention groups that have students and data attached.
- To delete an intervention group, click the trash icon on the Intervention Group Detail Page.
- A dialogue box will appear. Click OK
Remember, do not delete intervention groups that have students and data attached. Click the lock to close, instead.







